Tip: How To Store Fresh Herbs

I love utilizing fresh herbs for a recipe whenever I can, but I used to always find myself having to throw a good amount out because I wouldn’t use the entire batch fast enough!

As much as I would love to plant them, I live in Manhattan, so let’s face it, an outdoor space to grow an herb garden is laughable. I hate wasting food, so I set out to find a way to keep them alive in my teeny apartment.

This was my favorite article: Click Here for full details to help you!

Summary (Coped from Blog):

Wash them. Swirl the herbs gently around in the water to loosen any debris. Drain the water and lay them on a layer of paper towels and pat gently with more paper towels to blot away any excess moisture.

Store Hardy Herbs by arranging them lengthwise in a single layer on a slightly damp paper towel, rolling them up like a jelly roll, then transfer the bundle to a plastic zipper lock bag or wrap it in plastic wrap. Store in the refrigerator.

Store Tender Herbs by snipping off the bases of the stems and removing any discolored or wilted leaves. Transfer them to a large mason jar with an inch of water in the bottom. Seal the jar with the lid (if it fits), or cover the top of the jar with an overturned plastic bag sealed with a rubber band. Store in the refrigerator.

Store Basil by snipping off the bases of the stems and placing the bunch in a vase or a mason jar with an inch or two of water at the bottom, just like a bouquet of flowers. Store at room temperature in a light area but out of direct sunlight.

Leave a Reply

