Breakfast Egg Muffins

I have a love/hate relationship with meal prepping… When I’m in the kitchen, I am happy! I love trying to create recipes and delicious dishes to eat and share with friends. I get a little frustrated when they don’t work, and overwhelmingly happy when they do.

However, I work an 8 – 5 job that doesn’t give me as much time as I would like to dedicate to cooking and baking. I also wake up early every day to fit a gym session in, so naturally, meal prepping has been on my radar. The issue?

  1. I have a teeny tiny NYC kitchen that I share with a roommate, so when I do get some room to make food, it’s usually one dish at a time.
  2. I love cooking/baking! I would miss getting home and concocting things!
  3. I’m pretty bad at planning ahead and figuring out what I want to eat for the week because I always want ALL THE THINGS (this causes me to spend way too much on groceries… I should work on that)

All this aside, I am learning slowly how to incorporate more planning into my weekly meals. Example, these Breakfast Egg Muffins! They were super easy to make and I usually take two to work with me and pop them in my toaster oven to warm up. They’re delicious and sometimes, if I want to change it up, I’ll drizzle a sauce I made or some avocado on top. I’m not much of a breakfast maker anyways since I eat at work (except for the weekends…then I go all out).

Another way I’ve been “meal prepping” that I find super helpful is by just getting all my ingredients ready for the week! This includes washing and chopping everything so I’m good to go! It also helps when I get home with the munchies, I can snack on some bell peppers, nuts, or pickled red onion…mmm. I also really like to make big batches of pesto or other sauces. I portion and freeze them in an ice cube tray and then add to a ziplock bag. When I want to use it I just grab a little cube and add to my pan or melt at room temperature.

Finally, the proteins! This actually has saved me a couple of times. At the beginning of the week (or whenever I can find time and space) I’ll cook some basic chicken/meat/fish and put it in the fridge. I can easily pop it out later and season or just add plain to a salad or meal. This allows me to meal prep and still have fun in the kitchen throughout the week.

Still working on the “not buying everything at the grocery store” part…

Now on to these:

IMG_1329

Ingredients:

  • 6 Eggs
  • 2 Egg Whites
  • Sweet Onion
  • Tomato
  • Mushrooms
  • Bell Peppers
  • Spinach
  • Extra Virgin Olive Oil
  • Turkey (I used Applegate’s Natural Roasted Turkey Breast)
  • Minced Garlic
  • Spices of Choice (I used salt, pepper, turmeric, basil, paprika and cumin)

How To:

  1. Preheat oven to 350F.
  2. Crack eggs into a bowl and whisk together. Set aside.
  3. Grease skillet with olive oil over medium heat.
  4. Add onions and saute for about 5 – 7 min.
  5. Add minced garlic and  bell peppers and saute for another 5 min (or until onions become translucent).
  6. Add mushrooms and saute for another 5 min.
  7. Add tomato, spinach, and spices and saute until the spinach is wilted and mushrooms are cooked. Dice your turkey and add to the pan.
  8. Grease a 12 cup muffin pan with oil and divide sauteed veggies and turkey evenly.
  9. Pour whisked eggs evenly into cups and leave a little room at the top.
  10. Bake for 20 – 25min until a toothpick comes out clean. Then take them out and let them sit for a few minutes before removing.
  11. You can eat these straight out of the oven (YUMMOS) or refrigerate for up to a week or freeze for a month.

The nice part about these is you can really add whatever you want to them! Change up your veggies or proteins… Add different spice mixes… You can even skip the whole sauteing step and just toss the raw veggies into the cups and top with eggs – I just think sauteeing adds some flavor. It’ll come out delicious all the same!

Leave a Reply

