Taco Salad

I have a new appreciation for salads…

I used to not think much of them, figured they were pretty easy to make. All you have to do is throw stuff in a bowl and top with dressing, right? Wrong. To make a good salad takes much more work than that. I’ve tried making my own. I’ve tried replicating a restaurant salad I enjoyed. It’s difficult.

Ever since I started eating healthier and more “whole,” I have been on a mission to create a delicious salad (and I’m still working on those copycat ones too). I made this one last night for lunch today at work, and I couldn’t have been more excited to eat it. It definitely lived up to the hype… I am happy and satisfied.

Note: The pickled red onion and pico de gallo I usually make at the beginning of the week and use with a ton of my meals. So good, healthy and guilt free.

Ingredients:

  • 2 cups Spinach
  • 1/2 cup Arugula
  • Oven Roasted Sweet Potatoe (my recipe here)
  • Pickled Red Onion
    • 4 Limes (Juiced)
    • 1 Red Onion
    • 1 Tbsp White Vinegar
    • 2 tsp Salt
    • 1 tsp Pepper
  • Castaway Kitchen’s Roast Lemon Crispy Beef (so good!)
  • 1/4 Avocado (diced)
  • Pico de Gallo
    • 6 Roma Tomatoes
    • 1 Red Onion
    • 2 Limes
    • 1 Bundle of Cilantro
    • 1 Tbsp of Salt
    • 1 Jalapeno (Optional)
  • Lemon Vinaigrette (I used My Whole Food Life’s Recipe)
    • An avocado cilantro dressing would work wonders too…

How To:

[Pico de Gallo]

  1. Dice the tomatoes into small cubes.
  2. Dice the red onions into very small, thin cubes.
  3. Dice the jalapeno into very small, thin cubes.
  4. Pluck cilantro leaves and finely mince.
  5. Add all the chopped ingredients into a bowl and mix.
  6. Squeeze 2 limes into the bowl and add your salt.
  7. Mix everything together well and refrigerate. The longer it sits the better it tastes!

[Pickled Red Onion]

  1. Peel and finely slice the red onion into very thin strips.
  2. Place strips into a tupperware or mason jar and add vinegar and lime juice into the jar until onions are completely submerged. Add salt and pepper, close, and shake a little to mix.
  3. Let sit in the fridge for at least an hour before eating.

[Salad]

  • Now, put it all in a bowl and toss.

FullSizeRender (1)

2 Comments Add yours

  1. Hi Azul! You have a delightful blog!
    Good luck on your endeavors!

    Like

  2. whateattakes says:

    Thank you so much!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

